top of page

Experience the Creative Mind

Inside the Creative Mind

Follow me on my own personal journey of my own creative proces. Documenting the creation and preparation for Peace 'n Jam's newest adventure, 'Inside the Creative Mind'

Blog: Welcome
All Videos

All Videos

Blog: Video Player
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureJessica Marek

Getting some inspiration

Now I have done music events before, I've performed at gigs and open mic night and I’ve hosted gigs out of my flats kitchen and who can forget Peace 'n Jam my open mic night. So, although I do have experience in this area, this project has many aspects that are still very new to me. For the event I want to have a really interesting art exhibit, exhibiting the 4 main showcased artworks but also displaying other local art and work by the collaborating artists.

I do go to art galleries every so often and I like to go to some conceptual art shows, stuff that is a little outside of the box. However, in thinking back to these visits I never really have thought about how the art is displayed. Just never occurred to me.

So, to get a good idea I visited some art galleries around Glasgow.



One of the first places i visited was the Unexpected Artist Gallery. I always find this gallery to be full of really interesting pieces. When I go in I notice that the visuals are really bright and bold, there is also clearly a lot of pieces in this gallery and i can see that they have use their space wisely. I really do like when the walls are covered in art, to me it felt like there a lot to look at and it keeps you constantly interested, however I do acknowledge that sometimes this can mean some pieces get drowned out. But visually I loved this place.


The next place I visited was the Gallery of Modern Art (GOMA). I absolutely love this place, having lived in Glasgow City all my life I have been to the GOMA many times, when I was very young, I even went to a weekend art class at the GOMA, I even got entered into an art competition and won second place for my age group. I also wander into the GOMA when I please since I'm in town a lot. I find it to be a peaceful space with some truly amazing ideas and art form people all over the world. (Andy Warhol's can being one of my all time favourites)

I always love how things are set up in the galleries and the main hall. The main hall had an exhibition including sound and visual art, with a self playing piano and video projected onto a screen. I hope to use a projector at 'Inside the Creative Mind' So it was good to see the effect it gives, it also gave me an idea to try and have something that is in sync with the projection? I feel that could be quite visually impressive.

In the galleries I find they like to space things apart which I feel makes y9ou focus on one painting at a time, giving this one piece of art its space to be appreciated and understood. There was also a glass box display of various sketches and film. I really loved how this looked and it gave me an idea, maybe I could compile various sketches and rough outlines of the art work and have them on display, a glass cabinet with lighting would be nice, but it depends on what I can get my hands on, though I do like the idea of backlighting, i think it could make the 4 main pieces stand out from the rest.

The last two places I visited were a little different, both of these places are art stores, both located in the Buchanan Galleries, The Scottish Design Exchanged (SDX) and ART.

ART is a small gallery with some really exceptional artwork, the layout of the place is quite professional. One thing I did like was a couple of sections with two small walls, it made me feel more enclosed, but it made the experience feel a little more personal.

I stumbled upon SDX one day and fell in love with the place, it sells many products from many different artists throughout Scotland, the works I find in there are really amazing and original It's always enjoyable to even just walk through the store and have a peruse. They definitely make use of the space, I find that every nook and cranny is covered in art, which can make it look cluttered, but personally I love that style, gives me many things to look at and it does excite you a little. One thing I like about the place too is that it is focussed on supporting the independent Scottish artist, which is also what I want to do with 'Inside the Creative Mind'.

After visiting all these galleries, I have some really good ideas on how I want the Exhibition to look, I might try taking some pictures of the venue and drawing out a map of how I want it to look. I think I will do a good job because I actually realised, sitting in bed, I have a bit of practice already, my room's wall is covered in assorted art and sketches and posters, arranged to look quite aesthetically pleasing (well to me at least).

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page