top of page

Experience the Creative Mind

Inside the Creative Mind

Follow me on my own personal journey of my own creative proces. Documenting the creation and preparation for Peace 'n Jam's newest adventure, 'Inside the Creative Mind'

Blog: Welcome
All Videos

All Videos

Blog: Video Player
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureJessica Marek

My own process: Mind Maps

I sometimes find it had to collect my thoughts. I feel like I have so many at the one time it can be hard to find a filter that pushes through the ideas that are any good. So I do try a number of different ways that helps this and helps me develop my ideas.





I find mind maps are a classic go to when it comes to developing ideas, I was probably first introduced to this method when I was a child in primary school, as I’m sure is the case for many others, It is a common, simple and effective way of sorting out my ideas.

As you can see the first one here is my initial ideas for the project, initially I was focused on creating an emotional video including aspects of spoken word and poetry a lot of which I take influence from the artist Hobo Johnson. I wanted to explore mental health issues across today and more importantly myself, speaking up about issues I have experienced such as anxiety, depression and eating disorders. I felt that I could make a very video that could show the raw emotion that is connected to these issues. I wanted to explore this is some form of poetry inner monologue along with appropriate visuals. Along with this idea i thought about a similar video but with a more feminist approach, how I came to call myself a feminist and what the word means to me personally, along with speaking out about my own personal experiences and sexual harassment.

But as much as I still love these ideas, and may use these in future projects, it was these two little bubbles on the mind map that actually sparked an idea that would now become 'Inside the creative mind.



This mind map here has helped me with my next steps for the project at this stage and also with what I will be doing that will be included in the upcoming presentation.

As part of my next steps I will be focussing on my key themes for the event and doing some research, especially looking at local galleries and exhibitions around Glasgow to get some inspiration on how to display art. I will be contacting more artists and musicians and getting the final bill all set up, I do already have a few names confirmed and the information will be released soon on both the blog and the social media website.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page